National Emblem
  • Home Icon
  • About Us
  • About the WPC

About the WPC

The Wireless Planning & Coordination (WPC) Wing of the Ministry of Communication & Information Technology, created in 1952, is the national radio regulatory nodal agency of the Government of India and is responsible for planning, regulating, and managing  the limited resources of Radio Frequency (RF)  spectrum and associated satellite orbits, including geo-stationary satellite orbit as well as licensing of wireless stations in the country under the Indian Telegraph Act 1885 (ITA 1885) and the Indian Wireless Telegraphy Act 1933 (IWTA 1933), as statutory requirement. It caters the needs of all wireless users in the country, government or private, security or non-security.  WPC is also the national agency for all matters related to Radiocommunication sector of International Telecommunication Union (ITU) and Asia-Pacific Telecommunity (APT) and is responsible for treaty obligations on behalf of the Government. Headquartered in the Ministry,  WPC Wing has presently been organised into the following nine Bureaus :

  1. Satellite
  2. Standing Advisory Committee on Frequency Allocation (SACFA)
  3. Upto 806 MHz Frequency
  4. Above 806 MHz Frequency
  5. International/national Coordination and Conference work & Project Implementation
  6. ASMS & IT (for WPC)
  7. COP Examination & Amateur Licensing, Regulation and Administration
  8. GSM & 3G
  9. BWA & CDMA

Besides above groups in WPC Wing headquarter, WPC has five Regional Licensing Offices working at Delhi(RLO-North), Mumbai(RLO-West), Chennai(RLO-South), Kolkata(RLO-East) & Guwahati(RLO-North East).